Sl. No. Name of the District Judge On Leave/ Out of Station Details
1. Vacant N/A View


Brief History of District- Banka

The Banka Judgeship was inaugurated on 29.11.2014 by Hon'ble Chief Justice, High Court, Patna.

The district of Banka is situated in far south - east  of the State Bihar. The eastern and southern border of the district coincides with district  Godda of the state - Jharkhand. In west and north east it touches Jamui and Munger district respectively. The old district Bhagalpur is situated in the north side of Banka.

The geographical area of the district is 305621  hectare i.e. 3019.3465 Sq Km.

The district head quarter of Banka is situated in Banka town. The district has been established on 21st, February, 1991. Earlier it was a Sub-Division of a the district Bhagalpur.

Sub-divisions and Blocks

The district comprises only one sub-division, Banka, which is further divided into eleven blocks: Banka, Amarpur, Shambhuganj, Belhar, Fullidumar, Katoria, Chandan, Baunsi, Barahat, Dhoraiya, Rajoun

Out of 11 blocks, 9 are Naxal affected.


A railway line connecting the existing Bhagalpur-Bounsi line to Rampurhat, which is well-connected to Howrah, is being developed, as is a line connecting Sultanganj to Jasidihthrough Banka. village Jagatpur should included where railway station banka situated



According to the 2011 census Banka district has a population of 2,029,339. The district has a population density of 672 inhabitants per square kilometre (1,740/sq mi). Its population growth rate over the decade 2001-2011 was 26.14%. Banka has a sex ratio of 907 females for every 1000 males, and a literacy rate of 60.12%.

It has a population of 1,608,773 (as of 2001). There are 1,409,352 Hindus and 190,051 Muslims (11.81%).


Languages used in the district include Angika, an Indo-Aryan language written in the Devanagari script and spoken by at least 725,000 people in the Angika Region.


Channan is the main river of Banka.


A famous temple dedicated to the Hindu goddess Durga is located in Jagatpur, Karharia, Kushmaha, Kunauni, Laxmipur Dam, Banka, Babhangama. Every year during Durga Puja, devotees from many parts of India visit this temple. Two temples—Narshimha (one of the incarnations of Vishnu) Temple and Digamber Jain Tirthanakar—are located at the top of a mountain known as Mandar Parbat, which is about 500 metres (1,600 ft) tall and made of a single piece of stone. The management of the Narsimha temple is under a trust. There is also a very old Avantika Nath temple at the bottom of Mandar Parvat. The Avantika Nath Temple Trust, founded by the late Babu Biro Singh of the village of Sabalpur, looks after the temple. Kailash Pathak is the Sevayat of the Avantika Nath temple. A famous temple of Lord SHIVA is in Jethore hill near Chanan river. Literal meaning of Jethore is jyesth means elder Gaur means brother of Deoghar temple. Maa kali mandir in KAMALPUR village is very famous temple. A Mahalakshmi temple is located in front of Paapharni Pond. Recently a Lakshminarayan Temple was built in the center of Paapharni through the contributions of local people. It is managed by a trust headed by Fateh Bahadur Singh of erstwhile Sabalpur state.

The district is known for its rich tribal culture and its handicrafts and hand looms. The homemade Khadi and silk of the area are popular. Most of the raw silk cocoon is produced in Katoria; in fact major part of the raw materials required for silk industry in Bhagalpur is supplied from Katoria.