District Court Complex Baramulla



In the year 1947 ADM Sub-Judge, (Nizam Din) Court with Jurisdiction of Muzafferabad, Narbal, Gurez, Tangdar and Tetwal, was inaugurated. In the year 1956 Munsiff Court Handwara was inaugurated and the then Presiding Officer was Gh Ahmad Tak.In the year 1957 Munsiff court Sopore having jurisdiction of Bandipora and Sonawari was inaugurated.

On 02.08.1964 Court of District Judge, Baramulla was inaugurated and in the month of October, 1968 Munsiff Court Sumbal was launched. In the same year i.e. 1968 Munsiff Court Kupwara was also launched. In the year 1966 Munsiff Court Uri was inaugurated.In the year 1979 Kupwara was segregated and was treated as District Kupwara. The court of Munsiff Kupwara was upgraded to District Court Kupwara with Presiding Officer namely Ghulam Nabi Gowhar.

On 05.12.1982 Munsiff Court Tangmarg was inaugurated by Hon;ble Minister Mustafa Kamal.

In the year 1987 Sub Judge/Judicial Magistrate Court Pattan was inaugurated and in the month of September, 2000, Munsiff Court Gurez was established. 

The principal District & Sessions Court Baramulla along with Additional District & Sessions Court, Sub-Judge Court and Munsiff Court was shifted to New Court Complex Baramulla near D.I.G Office on 19.09.2000 and was inaugurated by Hon’ble Chief Minister Dr. Farooq Abdullah in presence of Hon’ble Chief Justice B.P Saraf.