About Dharwad Court


District Court, Dharwad is established more than 150 years ago. Previously it was having Jurisdiction over Gadag & Haveri District also comprising of total 17 talukas. After establishment of District Courts at Gadag on 30-09-2000 & at Haveri on 12-10-2001, only 5 talukas i.e., Dharwad, Hubli, Kalghatagi, Kundagol & Navalgund are remained under the Jurisdiction of Dharwad District.

The 1st & 2nd Floor of District Court Complex were inaugurated on 19-01-2019.

District No. of Talukas – 5

1. Dharwad

2. Hubballi

3. Kundgol

4. Navalgund

5. Kalghatgi


16,04,253 (as per 2001 Census).


Dharwad district is situated in the Western sector of the northern half of Karnataka State. The district is bounded on the North by the District of Belgaum, on the East by the district of Gadag, on the South Haveri and on the West by Uttara Kannada district. All these districts which surround Dharwad district belong to Karnataka State itself.