Dhemaji District Judiciary


About Us

The court of the District and Sessions Judge, Dhemaji was established in the year 1992.The territorial juridiction of the court was extended up to the border of the Arunachal Pradesh in the north-east and Lakhimpur in the west. Mr. J. C. Kalita , A.J.S. was the first District and Sessions Judge of Dhemaji District.

Presently, the territorial juridiction of the District is extended over the Sub-Division namely Dhemaji Sub-Division and Jonai Sub-Division.

Altogether the establishment of District & Sessions Judge and the C.J.M.comprise eight courts managed by the judicial officers of various grades.

Sl. No. Name of The Court Number of Courts Nature of Cases delt in
1 District & Sessions Judge, Dhemaji 1 Civil/Criminal/(original, appellate, revisional,MACT AND Consumer forum cases)
2 Chief Judicial Magistrate , Dhemaji 1 Criminal
3 Additional Chief Judicial Magistrate,Dhemaji 1 Criminal
4 Sub Divisional Judicial Magistrate(M), Jonai 1 Criminal
5 Munsiff No.1 Cum JMFC , Dhemaji 1 Civil/Criminal
6 Judicial Magistrate First Class, Dhemaji 1 Civil/Criminal
7 Munsiff Cum JMFC, Jonai 1 Civil/Criminal