The Dimapur District of Nagaland State is a cosmopolitan District where people from different tribes of the State and various communities of India are residing which resembles a mini India is the commercial hub of the State. Dimapur District also a gateway to Manipur State. The District was earlier administered by the Depurt Commissioner who was a District Collector as well as a District Magistrate vested with dual power of Executive and Judicial on him under the Rules for Administration of Police & Justice in Nagaland 1937. With a view to deliver proper justice to the litigants and to dispose cases properly and judiciously the Hon’ble Supreme Court of India had separated Judiciary from Executive and the following District & Sessions Judges were appointed and posted to Dimapur vis:- (1) Mr. L.K. Achumi, NJS form 22-05-2008 to 31-12-2009 (2) Mr. S. Hukato Swu, NJS from 01-01-2009 to 16-12-2013 (3) Mr. Veprasa Nyekha, NJS from 17-12-2013 to 31-03-2014 (4) Smt. Y. Longkumer, NJS form 01-04-2014 to 31-01-2015 (5) Mr. Neiko Kanou, NJS from 02-02-2015 till date.