District And Sessions Court, Etah

Constitution and Jurisdiction

      In the pre-independence period, the judicial courts consisted of those of the District & Sessions Judge, Aligarh whose jurisidiction extended to Etah, the subordinate judge of Etah and Munsif of Etah and Kasganj. The latter Munsificomprised the tehsils of Etah , Jalesar and Aliganj while the tehsil Kasganj andPatiyali fell within the Munsifi of Kasganj since November 2008 Kasganjdistrict separated from Etah district.

Criminal Jurisdiction : 

     The Session Court has the power to exercise the sessions trials committed by the criminal courts in addition to sessions Court, there are 7 Addl. Sessions Courts, 3 Special Courts namely- Spl. Court SC & ST (PA) Act, Spl. Court (E.C.Act), and Spl Court (DAA). There are courts of a Chief Judicial Magistrate and two Addl. Chief Judicial Magistrate and one Judicial Magistrate to deal with criminal cases, and one Court of Spl. Judicial Magistrate.

Civil Jurisdiction :

    The District Judge's Court is formed applellate court of civil cases. There are 7 Addl. District Judges and 3 Special Judges Courts in addition. Civil Judge (Sr. Div.) and Civil Judge (Jr. Div.) are parental courts of civil cases depending on the valuation of cases. There is one Civil Judge (Sr. Div.) Court and six Addl. Civil Judges (Jr. Div.) Courts are in addition to above courts.