Sub-Divisional Court at Nagar Untari, Garhwa is going to be inaugurated virtully by Hon'ble the Chief Justice of India on 23rd July, 2022



                                          Garhwa Judgeship

      The erstwhile Garhwa Subdivision of Palamau District was consisting of eight blocks and get separated from Palamau District as an independent district “Garhwa” with effect from 1st April 1991. At present Garhwa district is a part of Palamau commissionery consisting of fourteen blocks, sixteen Police Stations and three sub-Divisions namely Garhwa, Nagar Untari and Ranka. The Garhwa Sub-Divisional Court has been functioning since 18.08.1961 under the Sessions Division of Palamau as the S.D.O; Garhwa was vested with both civil and criminal jurisdiction. Later in the year 1971 the permanent courts of Munsif was established with civil power and S.D.J.M with criminal power and later the Court of A.C.J.M was opened in the year 1983. The Sessions Division of this Judgeship commenced since 25.06.2001 and was inaugurated by Hon’ble Mr. Justice (Ret.) Deoki Nandan Prasad and Sri Pradeep Kumar was the first District and Sessions Judge of the Garhwa Judgeship. The Family Court of Garhwa Judgeship commence on 02.05.2009.


                              Garhwa court at a glance


         Garhwa Civil Court is situated on the southern side of NH-75 (Garhwa- Nagar Untari Road) at a distance of about 200 meters from Collectorate. The entire Court Campus is situated within approximately five acres of land and Comprises five Court buildings namely PDJ establishment, Fast Track Court building, Six court building ,old four court building and New Court building. Old and New Court Hazat and Sub-Judge building is also situated within the premises. New Court building, Mediation centre and New Court Hazat of Civil Court, Garhwa has been inaugurated on 14th day of May, 2016.