The Chief Metropolitan Magistrate's courts : The Presidency Magistrate's Courts were established in the year 1810 also known as Police Courts. On coming into force Code of Criminal Procedure Code, 1973 ( 2 of 1974 ) 01st April 1974 , these Courts are known as The Chief Metropolitan Magistrates Courts, Mumbai.

The Magnificent Court building for Chief Metropolitan Magistrate Courts has great Archaeological importance. It was carved out under the superintendence of Khan Bahadur Muncherjee Cowasjee Murzaban Associ.M.Inst. C.E. Executive Engineer Presidency. The work of the building was Commenced on 03rd December 1884 and Completed on 31st December 1888 with estimated Cost of Rs. 3,87,361/- , Actual Cost of Rs. 3,73,694/-.

The Hon'ble Mr. C. P. Cooper (Bar-at-Law) was the first Presidency Magistrate. He presided over as Chief Presidency Magistrate from year 1878 - 1895.

The Hon'ble Shri. M. M. Dhruv. (M.A.,L.L.B.) was the First Chief Metropolitan Magistrate. He presided over for the period of 5 years i.e. from year 1972 - 1977

Presently the sanctioned strength of courts of Metropolitan Magistrates is 75. These courts are housed in 16 Court Complexes (Centre) namely 1) Esplanade, 2) Mazgaon (Presently camped at Sewree), 3) Girgaon, 4) Dadar, 5) Andheri, 6) Bandra, 7) Borivali, 8) Kurla, 9) Vikhroli, 10) Mulund, 11) Ballard Pier, 12) C.S.T., 13) Mumbai Central Court ( M.C.T. ), 14) Vileparle, 15) Shindewadi, and 16) Juvenile Court-Umarkhadi.

Latest Announcements