DIstrict Courts Kullu


HISTORY KULLU Sessions Division is one of the Sessions Divisions out of eleven Sessions Divisions in the State of Himachal Pradesh. The Judicial Courts Complex is situated in the heart of Kullu city/ Town. Before Independence, there was no post of the permanent District and Sessions Judge at Kullu, HP .


However, after independence till 1966, Kullu remained a part of District Kangra, State of Punjab. The area of Lahaul and Spiti was also a part of Kangra. At the time of re-organisation of composite Punjab on 01.11.1966, the area of Kangra was transferred to Himachal Pradesh alongwith Shimla, Kullu, Lahaul & Spiti, Una, Nalagarh and three villages of District Gurdaspur. Kullu and Lahaul & Spiti came into existence as separate and distinct Districts in 1966 itself .


The available record further reveals that the District and Sessions Judge, Mandi, Kullu and Lahaul & Spiti at Mandi, used to hold circuit court at Kullu from the year 1968 onwards. It is in the month of May, 1991, the Court of Additional District and Sessions Judge started functioning at Kullu and remained functioning so till 27.8.1997.


The said Court was converted into full-fledged District and Sessions Court for Districts Kullu and Lahaul & Spiti on 28.8.1997. However, the areas of Revenue Sub Divisions Anni and Spiti of District Kullu and Lahaul & Spiti respectively, were included in Sessions Division, Kinnaur at Rampur. At present besides the Court of District and Sessions Judge, there is a Court of Presiding Officer, Fast Track( Additional District and Sessions Judge ) at Kullu since December, 2003.


There is also one Court of Senior Sub Judge-Cum- Chief Judicial Magistrate at Kullu since 17.4.1970, which by now is designated as Civil Judge (Sr.Div.)-Cum- Chief Judicial Magistrate.


Further, there is a Court of Senior Sub Judge- Cum- Chief Judicial Magistrate, Lahaul & Spiti at Keylong since 02.9.1974, presently having its headquarters at Kullu and used to hold circuit court at Keylong from the month of June to October every year. On Sub Division level, there is one Court of Civil Judge (Junior Division)-Cum- Judicial Magistrate 1st Class, Manali, which has been created on 27.2.1998 and the same has been functioning since then.