Latehar District

Latehar district is one of the twenty-four districts of Jharkhand state in eastern India, and Latehar town is the administrative headquarters of this district. This district is part of Palamu division.

Latehar district is situated between 84deg. 31 min. East latitude 23 deg. 44.4 min north latitude. 


The territory covered by the present district became a part of Palamu district, when it formed on 1 January 1928. Latehar district was created on 4 April 2001 by separating the erstwhile Latehar subdivision of Palamu district. It is currently a part of the Red Corridor.


There are 9 Development Blocks, namely Latehar, Chandwa, Balumath, Manika, Barwadih, Garu, Mahuadand, Bariyatu,Herhanj.

There are two Vidhan Sabha constituencies in this district: Manika and Latehar. Both are part of Chatra Lok Sabha constituency.

Area  • Total  3,622

Population   • Total 7,26,978 (Male 3,69,66 and Female 3,57,312)