Maharashtra CoOperative Courts

Co-operative judiciary is a separate wing of state judiciary and it is constituted under the provision of The Maharashtra State Co-operative Societies Act, 1960. Co-operative Judges have limited powers of dealing with disputes covered under section 91 of The Maharashtra State Co-operative Societies Act, 1960. Broadly speaking, dispute between society and it's members regarding the constitution, election of committee, conduct of general meetings and management or business of the society are referred under section 91 to the co-operative courts. Before the amendment in the Maharashtra State Co-operative societies Act, 1960 in 1982, reference was being made to Registrar of Co-operative Societies . After the amendment in 1982 Judges were appointed and thus for the first time concept of co-operative courts came into existence in 1982. Co-operative Judges have unlimited pecuniary jurisdiction.

There are 25 co-operative courts in the state of Maharashtra and they are under the control of The Maharashtra State Co-operative Appellate Court, Mumbai which has its benches at Nagpur, Pune and Aurangabad. President is the administrative Head of Co-operative Appellate Court. Presently this chair is graced by Shri Shashikant Bhanudas Savale. Benches at Pune and Auragabad are presided over by Smt. S.R. Pawar & Smt. V.B. Kulkarni respectively.