The territorial jurisdiction of Mayurbhanj Sessions Division extends to the whole of the Revenue district of Mayurbhanj, the largest district of Odisha. The Sessions Division is headed by the District & Sessions Judge, Mayurbhanj. The District Sessions Court has the sanctioned strength of one Sessions Judge, four Additional Sessions Judges, three at Baripada and another at Rairangpur, one Chief Judicial Magistrate as well as one Special Track Court at Baripada. The Sessions Judge, the Additional Sessions Judges, the Chief Judicial Magistrate and the Special Track Court exercise power relating to the trial of Sessions cases of different categories. Besides, there are three Assistant Sessions Judges stationed at Rairangpur, Karanjia and Udala. These Courts except the Chief Judicial Magistrate and the Special Track Court also exercise power of appellate authority on criminal and civil matters.
The Sessions Judge and the Additional Sessions Judges are also act as the Tribunals relating to Motor Accident Claims. To cater to the need of Matrimonial disputes, the Judge, Family Court, Baripada is functioning since 20th June 2013. The Court of Additional Sessions Judge-cum-Special Judge (Vigilance), Baripada is also functioning since 20th June 2013 to deal with the cases relating to Vigilance matters.
The Registrar, Civil Courts is act as the Principal Magistrate, Juvenile Justice Board. To deal with the cases of Sexual Offences, the Special Track Court is opened on 11th February 2013 at Baripada, presiding over by the Registrar, Civil Courts, having the power of Assistant Sessions Judge.
On civil side, in the district court, besides the District Judge two Additional District Judges are exercising original and appellate jurisdiction, one Senior Civil Judge and one Civil Judge are functioning. Besides, four Senior Civil Judges are also functioning at Baripada, Rairangpur, Karanjia and Udala. The pecuniary jurisdiction of the Senior Civil Judges is un-limited but, certainly being more than Rs. 50,000/-. Four Civil Judges are also functioning at Baripada, Rairangpur, Karanjia & Udala respectively and one Civil Judge-cum-Judicial Magistrate First Class is functioning at Betnoti, to deal with the civil cases of all categories with the pecuniary limits being fixed upto Rs. 50,000/-.
For the disposal of criminal cases, there are five Cognizance-taking Magistrates posted at Baripada, Rairangpur, Karanjia, Udala and Betnoti respectively. The territorial jurisdiction of the Cognizance-taking Magistrates has been distinctly defined. Besides, there are also six Judicial Magistrates posted in the Judgeship for the disposal of criminal cases four at Baripada, one at Rairangpur and one at Karanjia.
The District Judge has the administrative control over all the courts established at Baripada, Rairangpur, Karanjia, Udala and Betnoti. Apart from the above, the Permanent Lok Adalat under the aegis of the District Legal Services Authority has been functioning with effect from 17th March 2012.

Latest Announcements