Mahesana District Map

Mahesana District Court Complex

Gujarat State was carved out of erstwhile Bombay State on 14th May, 1960. Originally, there were 15 Districts with 15 District and Sessions Judges and Judicial District, Mahesana was one of the original Districts. The foundation stone of Mahesana town was laid by Mesaji Chavada by laying the idol of Goddess “Toranvali Mataji” in the year 1358 / Samvat 1414, Bhadarva Sud Dasham and this is narrated by the Poet Jaysinh Brahmbhatt in his Poem in the Year 1932. According to historians the Gaekwads’ had formed their State at Vadodara and for the administration of North Gujarat they selected Patan as the capital but as the town was situated at a far distance,they selected Kadi as the capital town of the North Region. In the year 1902the capital town of Gayakwad Prant was shifted to Mahesana and at that time the North Region comprised of eight divisions viz. (1) Dahegam, (2) Aantarsuba, (3)Kadi, (4) Patan, (5) Vadnagar, (6) Visnagar, (7) Kheralu and (8) Vijapur.