On 2nd October, 1992, Nabarangpur was constituted as separate revenue District. Prior to that, it was a sub-division under Koraput revenue District. Nabarangpur District is situated in Southern part of Odisha. District head- quarters of Nabarangpur is situated 44 kms away from Jeypore, the Judicial head quarters of Koraput.
In pursuance of notification of Government of Orissa, Law Department, Bhubaneswar & notification of Hon’ble High Court of Orissa, Cuttack communicated vide Letter No 7353, dated 22.09.2011, the Court of District & Sessions Judge, Nabarangpur has been established with effect from 22.10.2011. Sri Bibhu Prasad Routray, LL.B, was posted as first District Judge of Judgeship of Nabarangpur. The Hon’ble Shri Justice V. Gopala Gowda, Chief Justice, High Court of Orissa inaugurated the District Court in the existing building of the S.D.J.M., Nabarangpur in presence of Hon’ble Shri Justice B.N. Mohapatra, High Court of Orissa.
Initially, the Court of the S.D.J.M., Nabarangpur was functioning in a portion of the building of the Sub-Collector, Nabarangpur and since 21.01.1986, it is functioning in the existing building. On 21.02.1992, the Court of the Sub-Judge, Nabarangpur was established and on 19.12.1993 the Court of the Chief Judicial Magistrate, Nabarangpur was established. Likewise, the Court of the Additional District Judge, Nabarangpur was opened on 25.03.2001 and S.K Mishra M.Com,LLB presently one of the Puisne Judge of Hon’ble High Court of Orissa was the first Additional District Judge. That Additional District Judge Court is upgraded as establishment of the District Judge Court on 22.10.2011. Again the Court of the Additional District Judge, Nabarangpur was opened on 17.07.2013under the Thirteen Finance Commission scheme. The District Record Room is, however, functioning still at Jeypore for want of accommodation in this place. Infrastcture facillty for Gramya Nyayalaya is being provided by the District Administrative under the dynamic leadership of District Magistrate- Cum-Collector Mrs Yamini Sadangi, IAS. In the mean time number of other Courts such as Special Judicial Magistrate, Judicial Magistrate First class and Assistant Sessions Judge (STC) court established and functioning. The Court of Asst. Sessions Judge (STC) Nabarangpur was inaugurated by thethen District & Sessions Judge, Shri K.C Mohapatra,MA,LL.B on 14.02.2013
A front office is also running in the existing court building with two nos of advocates appointed to work there as Retainers,to provide free legal advice to the needy. The District Mediation Centre is opened recently on 10.01.2014 being inaugurated by the District & Sessions Judge ,Shri K.D.R Dora,LL.M. Besides all these five nos. of village level legal aid clinics and a legal service clinics are functioning in different parts of the district to provide free legal aid to the poor. A legal aid clinic is also functioning in the Sub-Jail Nabarabngpur
Besides these Courts in the head-quarters, the Court of Judicial Magistrate First Class, Umerkote established on 07.06.1974 and the Court of Civil Judge (S.D.), Umerkote established on 04.08.2012 .The said two Courts are functioning situating 52 kms away from the District Headquarters.The sessions Circuit Courts also functioning at Umerkote two days in a month.

Latest Announcements