Civil Court, Sitamarhi



Name of the District Judge

On leave / Out Station



Sri Krishna Bihari Pandey



               Sitamarhi, the Judgeship is at a distance of about about 140 K M. from Patna and its headquarter is located on NH-77 at Dumra. Dumra is 5 K.M. south of Sitamarhi and is at a distance of 50 Kms. from the northern zero mile of Muzaffarpur. It is within Tirhut Commissionery and the township of Sitamarhi is situated on the bank of river Lakshmana (Lakhandei). The river Lakhandei divides the township in two parts which are inter-joined by many bridges passing over river Lakhandei.
Sitamarhi was a subdivision of Muzaffarpur district which was created in 1875 after division of the old Tirhut District which was at that time a district of State of Bengal from which the State of Bihar was carved out. After division of the district of Tirhut, the districts of Muzaffarpur, Darbhanga, Champaran and Saran were created. The revenue district of Sitamarhi was created on 11-12-1972 and the Judgeship was established on 09-04-1977 vide notification published in gazette no. SO 388 dated 14-03-1977 and Law Department, Government of Bihar letter no. 1494 dated 01-04-1977.
From the available records it can not be ascertained from which date the subdivision of Sitamarhi was functioning but some information which are available through different Advocates indicate that it was probably functioning from the date of the creation of district of Muzaffarpur or some years later may be  around 1883. The Local Bar Association i.e. the District Bar Association, Sitamarhi has the records of its officer bearers from 01-01-1927. The first Judgement available in the record room of the Judgeship is of the year, 1926 pertaining to Title Suit No. 45 of 1926 and the first court was that of Munsif. There is no authentic recorded information about the creation of the seat of Munsif of any other court, but probabilities suggest the functioning of courts since 1883.
Originally the courts and the administrative offices of the subdivision were located in Sitamarhi and the premises, whereupon the present Shri Ram Krishna Goenka College is located had the Civil Courts and other office buildings. The S.D.M. Sitamarhi had his residence over the land where presently Rajendra bhawan is located. These structures collapsed during the massive earthquake of 1934. Thereafter, the courts and the administrative offices were shifted to Dumra in the year 1936. The nature of land of the area is of Khas Mahal and it was in the possession of some English Gentleman who had his Kothi which is presently in occupation of Shri Nikhil Kumar, son of Late Shri Satyendra Narayan Singh. Satyendra Narayan Singh inherited it from Late Rameshwar Singh, Wakil who married his only daughter who was married to him. In part of the Kothi runs the N.S.D.A.V. Public School. Dumra is surrounded on two sided, i.e. on west and south by river Lakhandei.
The Sub-Judge’s court was established by the Hon’ble Court’s notification no. 196-A dated 05-07-1971 and the first Subordinate Judge who was posted here was Shri Banke Bihari Prasad and the court was inaugurated on 26-07-1971 by the then Chief Justice Shri Justice Ujjawal Narain Sinha.
The present Judgeship is formed by the two revenue district-Sitamarhi & Sheohar. Sheohar was originally a Subdivision created in 1983, exactly on 18-04-1983. Before that Sitamarhi had two subdivisions - Sitamarhi East and Sitamarhi West since its very inception as a district. However, Sitamarhi East Subdivision was rechristened as Pupri Subdivision and its revenue office headquarter is located at Pupri since 17-03-1992. Sitamarhi West was bifurcated into two subdivisions – Sitamarhi Sadar which was created on 01-04-1991 and Belsand Subdivision which came into existence on 06-10-1994.
The district of Sheohar, the part of this Judgeship came into existence on 6th of October 1994.

Click here to download Mobile App for Android 

Click here to download Mobile App for iOS