Rohtas Judgeship at a glance The Judgeship of Rohtas was carved out of Shahabad Judgeship in the year 1978. The Judgeship of Kaimur was carved out of Rohtas Judgeship and came into existence in the year 1999. Rohtas Judgeship having its head quarter at Sasaram and a sole sub divisional unit at Bikramganj, was inaugurated on 23rd December,1978 by the then Hon'ble the Chief Justice Mr. K.B.N.Singh, Patna High Court, Patna. Mr. Madan Mohan Prasad No.-1 was the 1st District & Sessions Judge of this Judgeship. Sri Rajendra Pratap Singh is the present District & Sessions Judge-cum- Chairman, Legal Services Authority,Rohtas since 16.09.2019.

Important information regarding Rohtas Judgeship Creation:-

According to available data the Judgeship of Rohtas came into existence in the year 1978, six years later after the creation of Rohtas District. Initially the Judgeship of Rohtas embraced within its territorial jurisdiction the areas of present Judgeships of Bhojpur at Arrah, Buxar, and Kaimur at Bhabhua. At that time it was known as the district of Shahabad and the areas bounded on the north by the river Ganga, on the east and the south by the Sone river, on the north- west by the Karamnasa river and on the west by the Mirzapur district of U.P. At that time the Judgeship was under the administrative control of the Patna High Court.

This Judgeship was inaugurated on 23rd December, 1978 by Hon'ble the Chief Justice Mr. K.B.N. Singh, Patna High Court Mr. Madan Mohan Prasad No-I was the fist District & Sessions Judge of this Judgeship. The Judgeship of Kaimur at Bhabhua has been carved out of the Judgeship of Rohtas in the year 1999.

Court Buildings :- The Court Buildings are in eight blocks out of which two blocks are of single storey very old construction. One block is of three storied constructed and handed over in the year 1985. Besides those building, a new building for Fast Track Courts has also been constructed in the year 2004. The Sub-divisional Courts building and residential accommodation at Bikramganj are newly constructed and handed over in the year 2004 . Residential accommodation for Judicial Officers There are 28 Govt. quarters available presently for Judicial Officers accommodation including residence of District & Sessions Judge. Residential accommodation for class III and IV staff There are only 03 quarters for class III staff and 03 quarters for class IV staff in D.M. Colony,Fazalganj, Sasaram.

District & Sessions Judge:-  Sri Rajendra Pratap Singh is the present District & Sessions Judge since 16.09.2019. Prior to him Sri P.N. Rai  was the District & Sessions Judge from 01-02-2019 to  31-08-2019.

Family Court:- A Family Court was established vide notification dated 17.11.2004 contained under memo no. 5094/J dated 17.11.2004 of the Law(Judl.) Department Government of Bihar, Patna and is functioning here since 03.05.2005. It is functioning in the same building in which the court and office of other Judicial Officers are functioning. Sri Quamrul Hoda an Officer of rank of the District Judge, is the Presiding Offier of that court. He has designated as Principal Judge, Family Court, Rohtas, Sasaram.

Fast Track Courts:- The Personnel and Administrative Reforms Department, Government of Bihar, Patna has sanctioned 5 Fast Track Courts  for Rohtas Judgeship. Presently two Fast Track Courts are functioning in this Judgeship.

Strength of Courts for this Judgeship:- There are 52 courts sanctioned for the district head quarter at Sasaram and 08 Courts for Bikramganj sub-division. But at present there are 46  Courts functioning in the Judgeship of Rohtas at Sasaram including the Sub-Divisional Courts at Bikramganj and Dehri on-sone, Rohtas.

District Judge's Library:- It is situated in the three storey building, contains total number of Books 2038, Total number of available A.I.R. Journals - (till , Oldest Journal available in the Library is 1969 (P.L.J.R.).

District Judge's Record Room:- The oldest record available in the Record Room is of the year 1964. The Judgment is in good condition and is typed in English.