District Court of SAS Nagar
District Court of SAS Nagar
District Court of SAS Nagar
District Court of SAS Nagar

SAS Nagar


Glimpses of New Judicial Courts Complex, SAS Nagar



History of District Sahibzada Ajit Singh Nagar, Mohali

District has been carved out of areas falling in Ropar and Patiala District as 18th District of Punjab on 14th April 2006. It is officially named after the eldest son of Guru Gobind Singh, Sahibzada Ajit Singh (SAS Nagar, or "House of Sahibzada Ajit Singh")Because of its contiguous with the union territory of Chandigarh. The district has been formed to achieve growth of development as this area is emerging as major I.T.hub of Nothern India.

The district includes Mohali, Kharar and Dera Bassi Tehsils. It is located in the north east part of Punjab and is part of Patiala division The District includes 414 villages. The important township in the district are Kharar, Kurali, Mohali, Zirakpur & Dera Bassi. Kharar tehsil is the largest administrative unit of the New district with 144 villages followed by Dera Bassi Tehsil with 44 villages.27 villages are newly added in the District Sahibzada Ajit Singh Nagar which are carved out from District Patiala.

Court History The District and sessions court Mohali was earlier known as the Sub-Divison of Rupnagar Sessions Division and was established in the Year 2006 with a single Court in Phase 3-B 1 Mohali with a limited space in the Community Centre provided by the Civic Authorities with a vision to provide justice to litigants in and around the area falling under Mohali City.

The Judicial Courts of the newly formed SAS Nagar district were formally inaugurated by Acting Chief Justice of the Punjab and Haryana High Court Sh. H.S. Bedi on 23rd July,2006. Two court rooms were temporarily housed in the community centre complex of Phase 3-B1. This Court had a single Additional Civil Judge Senior Division cum SDJM, Ms. Poonam Ratti. The first court of SDJM was opened in Mohali in July 2006 while the second court of JM came here in March 2007.

Former Punjab and Haryana High Court Chief Justice Vijender Jain had inaugurated Mohali's first District court on March 18, 2008. In the next 5 years the formation of New Sessions Division exclusively for Mohali was envisioned by Hon'ble Punjab & Haryana High Court and foundation for the existing Judicial Court Complex was laid in the year 2013.

The new Judicial Courts Complex at Sector 76 was inaugurated by Punjab and Haryana High Court Justice T.P.S Mann, Chairman, Building Committee, Punjab, on 23rd December,2015 along with High Court Justice Mahesh Grover.

Ms. Archana Puri took Charge of the Newly Created Sessions Division as its First District and Sessions Judge. All 11 courts — four district sessions courts, five lower courts, a Lok Adalat and a mediation centre — have been shifted to the new complex. The complex, would house as many as 23 court rooms when it becomes completely ready.The complex, spread over four lakh sq ft, has several advanced facilities, including videoconferencing in each court, amplifier system instead of court usher, air-conditioned court rooms and office rooms, total CCTV surveillance, separate libraries for judges and advocates, separate parking areas for judges, advocates, office staff and public, and separate waiting area for visitors. The Judicial Court Complex which has state of the art facilities with modern technology is also eco-friendly and a fine piece of architect with appropriate facilities provided for working staff and the Judicial Officers. The site and location may appear to be a bit distant from the main city right now but with passage of time and the galloping growth of Mohali city would ultimately set up this institution strategicaly ideally conceived for public and officials as well.


Nodal Officer for Maintaining Website

Sh.Jagmohan Singh

System Officer

O/o District and Sessions Judge, Mohali

Contact no.:0172-2219444