Civil Court Sheohar


Sl. No

Name of the District Judge

On Leave/Out of Station



Sri Dharamsheel Srivastava




Civil Court Sheohar

Sheohar is an administrative District in the state of Bihar in India.The distance between Patna and Sheohar is nearly 124.1 KM (kilometers) .The district headquarter is located at Sheohar, and the district is a part of Tirhut Division. This district was carved out of Sitamarhi district in 1994 due to the extreme efforts of Late Sri Raghunath Jha, former Union Minister. This District was previously part of Sitamarhi District, which is the birth place of Goddess Maa Janki. The main birth place of Maa janki is situated at Punaura, the sub-division of Sitamarhi District, which is nearly 20 KM away from Sheohar District. Punaura Dham Janki Mandir is one of the holiest Hindu temple dedicated to Goddess Sita, million of pilgrims visit the temple every year. Prior to 1994, Sheohar was only a subdivision of Sitamarhi District. In the year 2012 on the 1st day of December, Sheohar District was declared as Judicial District. Judgeship started functioning with effect from 01.12.2012 which was inaugurated by Hon'ble Miss Justice Rekha Manharlal Doshit , the- then Hon'ble the Chief Justice of Patna High Court, Patna in the August presence of Hon'ble Sri Narendra Narayan Yadav, the- then Law Minister, Govt. of Bihar, Hon'ble MR. Justice Jayanandan Singh, the -then Hon'ble Judge of Patna High Court, Patna and Hon'ble MR. Justice Ajay Kumar Tripathi, the- then Hon'ble Judge of Patna High Court Patna, cum Inspecting Judge of Sitamarhi judgeship. Sri N.N.Ojha was the 1st District & Session Judge of Sheohar Judgeship. The 1st floor of the main court building of Sheohar Judgeship was inaugurated on 02.10.2013 by Sri Nisha Nath Ojha, the-then District & Sessions Judge, Sheohar. On 06.09.2014, the 2nd floor of the main court building was inaugurated by Hon'ble MR. Justice Jayanandan Singh, the -then Hon'ble Judge of Patna High Court, Patna cum Inspecting Judge of Sheohar judgeship . Child Friendly Court building of Sheohar Judgeship was e-Inaugurated On 16.09.2020by Hon'ble Mr. Justice Sanjay Karol, The Chief Justice of Patna High Court, Patna. Eminent Hindi Novelist, Dr. Sri Bhagwati Sharan Mishra was the 1st District Magistrate of Sheohar. The district occupies an area of 443 km² and has a population of 656,246 (as Census of 2011). Sheohar is known for its greenery and cleanliness. Cadamba and teak are the principle trees of this district. Nilgai or blue bull is the regional animal of this area. This district has a mixed population of Hindus and Muslims. Agriculture is the main stay. It is one of the most flood affected districts in Bihar, due to over flooding of the Bagmati and Budhi Gandak rivers. Devkuli is a holy place popular for ancient temple of lord Shiva, it is said that this temple was constructed during Dwapar period. As of 2011 Census, it is the second least populous district of Bihar  after Sheikhpura. The district comprises only one sub-division, namely, Sheohar, which is further divided into five blocks: Sheohar, Tariyani, Piprahi, Dumri-katsari, Purnahiya.