District Courts Shimla


Result for the Post of Class –IV (Peon/Orderly/Chowkidar) on Regular basis

                                 Judicial Court Complex Chakkar (Shimla)                                 


   Before independence, there was no post of permanent District and Sessions Judge at Shimla and District and Sessions Judge, Ambala had been regularly holding Circuit / Camp Court at Shimla in the building of Collectorate.  After independence, the Shimla town was under Punjab State and the District and Sessions Judge, Ambala had been holding Camp Court at Shimla.   However, there was a permanent Court of Senior Sub Judge - cum - Rent Controller - cum - Judge Small Causes - cum - CJM at Shimla.  After formation of Himachal Pradesh on 15.4.1948, the Headquarter District Mahasu was established at Kasumpti and District and Sessions Judge for Mahasu had been sitting at Kasumpti.  There was also a Court of Assistant Sessions Judge - cum - Senior Sub Judge Mahasu Subordinate Judge, Kandaghat who had also been holding camp Court at Shimla.  After  the hill areas of Punjab were merged  in Himachal  on Ist November, 1966  and Shimla District was created, the Court of District & Sessions Judge started functioning permanently at Shimla, which is housed in the building  of District Collectorate.  On Ist November, 1972, after re-organization of Hill areas after attaining Statehood, some parts of Mahasu District were merged in Shimla and some parts were merged in Solan District.  Earlier, District Bilaspur and District Kinnaur were parts of Shimla Sessions Division, but later on, District Bilaspur was made a full fledged Sessions Division. . In the year 1995, full fledged Sessions Division was also created for  Kinnaur District  with headquarters at Rampur.  Presently, besides  the Court of  District and Sessions Judge, there are three other Appellate Courts being  the Court of District & Sessions Judge ( Forest), Additional District & Sessions Judge and Addl. District and Sessions Judge (Fast Track Court).  In the Subordinate Judiciary, there are seven Court at Shimla comprising the Court of Chief Judicial Magistrate - cum - Civil Judge (Senior Division) - cum - Rent Controller and six Courts of Judicial Magistrates - cum - Civil Judges - cum - Rent Controllers. Two more such Courts have recently been created at Shimla.


Longitudinal/Latitudinal locations of the Court Complexes under

       Civil and Sessions Division Shimla.                           

Sr. no.

          Name of Court Complex





District Court  Complex, Shimla at Chakkar




Taluka Court Complex , Theog




Taluka Court Complex , Chopal




Taluka Court Complex , Jubbal




Taluka Court Complex , Rohru





Web Information Manager: Chief Administrative Officer

Phone Number: 0177-2832955

Email: dsj[dot]shimla[at]indiancourts[dot]nic[dot]in